Jump to main content
  • Men' Six Nations
  • Womens
  • U20 Summer Series

All the Pool A team line-ups for Round 3 of the Summer Series

Louis Bielle-Biarrey and Conor Oresanya

It’s still all to play for in Pool A as the Under-20 Six Nations Summer Series reaches crunch time – and South Africa, England, France and Ireland have announced their team line-ups.

The final round of pool fixtures begins on Tuesday with frontrunners South Africa against France as the Junior Boks look to wrap up top spot in their group with a victory.

That will be followed by England’s clash with reigning Six Nations Under-20s champions Ireland, with Alan Dickens’ side hoping to pounce should France slip-up earlier in the day.

Check out all the team news for the Pool A climax below.


The Junior Springboks have opted to mix it up ahead of their final Pool A match as they go in search of the win that will seal a play-off with the winner of Pool B.

Props Lamla Nunu and Sebastian Lombard come back into the starting team, as does loose forward Ruan Venter, while Neil le Roux is handed the No.9 shirt against France.

Nico Steyn, who started in the victories over England and Ireland, is named on the bench and Suleiman Hartzenberg moves from wing to inside centre to replace injured Carlton Banies.

Hartzenberg is partnered by Ethan James in midfield, Imad Khan slots into the vacant left wing position and Donovan Don shifts from right wing to fullback.

Where to watch Round 3 of the Summer Series

France have also made several changes from the side that went down to England 29-20 last time out, including the promotion of Jefferson Joseph from the bench to the wing.

Louis Bielle-Biarrey switches from left wing to fullback, with Ethan Randle replacing him on the flank, while Leo Barre joins Baptiste Jauneau in the half-back partnership.

Up front, Connor Sa comes back into the starting line-up along with Elliot Yemsi, with Brent Liufau, Noah Della Schiava, Maxime Baudonne and Killian Tixeront also in from the off.

South Africa: 15. Donovan Don, 14. Katlego Letebele, 13. Ethan James, 12. Suleiman Hartzenberg, 11. Imad Khan, 10. Sacha Mngomezulu, 9. Neil le Roux; 1. Lamla Nunu, 2. Tiaan Lange; 3. Sebastian Lombard; 4. Connor Evans; 5. Reinhardt Ludwig; 6. Paul de Villiers; 7. Ruan Venter; 8. Cameron Hanekom

Replacements: 16. Lukhanyo Vokozela, 17. Juann Else, 18. Corne Weilbach, 19. Merwe Olivier, 20. Siya Ningiza, 21. Nico Steyn, 22. Duran Koevort, 23. Latica Nela, 24. Sivu Mabece, 25. Louw Nel, 26. Gcino Mdletshe

France: 15. Louis Bielle-Biarrey, 14. Jefferson Joseph, 13. Emilien Gailleton, 12. Gatien Masse, 11. Ethan Randle, 10. Leo Barre, 9. Baptiste Jauneau; 1. Thomas Moukoro, 2. Connor Sa, 3. Eliott Yemsi, 4. Samuel M’Foudi, 5. Brent Liufau, 6. Noah Della Schiava, 7. Maxime Baudonne, 8. Killian Tixeront

Replacements: 16. Benjamin Boudou, 17. Pierre-Samuel Pacheco, 18. Robin Bellemand, 19. Theo Ntamack, 20. Leo Banos, 21. Jules Coulon, 22. Simon Tarel, 23. Mateo Garcia, 24. Montgaillard, 25. Nicolas Depoortere, 26. Max Auriac


Alan Dickens has named a largely unchanged England side for their final Pool A game of the Under-20 Six Nations Summer Series against Ireland in Verona.

England defeated France 29-20 to keep their hopes of overtaking South Africa at the summit alive, although they need to beat Ireland and hope Les Bleuets do them a favour.

Uncapped Alex Harmes is set to make his first appearance at left wing in one of only two changes to the starting line-up, while blindside flanker Ethan Staddon moves from the bench to start.

England star Bracken using dad as inspiration

“The players really gave it their all against France and to score four tries and secure a bonus point was well deserved,” said Dickens.

“We know we will need to maintain focus on our discipline in the final pool game against Ireland who, as we experienced in the Six Nations Championship, are a strong side.”

Richie Murphy has made four changes to Ireland’s starting XV for the Round 3 fixture, with Ethan Coughlan, Scott Wilson, Adam McNamee and Lorcan McLoughlin coming into the side.

England: 15. George Hendy, 14. Iwan Stephens, 13. Rekeiti Ma’asi-White, 12. Ethan Grayson, 11. Alex Harmes, 10. Fin Smith, 9. Charlie Bracken; 1. Tumy Onasanya, 2. Ollie Fletcher, 3. Jevaughn Warren, 4. Ewan Richards, 5. Lewis Chessum, 6. Ethan Staddon, 7. Emeka Ilione, 8. Toby Knight

Replacements: 16. John Stewart, 17. Archie McArthur, 18. Mikey Summerfield, 19. Charlie Rice, 20. Chandler Cunningham-South, 21. Greg Fisilau, 22. Lucas Brooke, 23. Tom Carr-Smith, 24. Jed Walsh, 25. Tom Litchfield, 26. Sam Harris

Ireland: 15. Patrick Campbell, 14. Aitzol King, 13. Fionn Gibbons, 12. Daniel Hawkshaw, 11. Dylan O’Grady, 10. Sam Prendergast, 9. Ethan Coughlan, 1. George Hadden, 2. James McCormick, 3. Scott Wilson, 4. Conor O’Tighearnaigh, 5. Adam McNamee, 6. Diarmuid Mangan, 7. Reuben Crothers (capt), 8. Lorcan McLoughlin

Replacements: 16. Dominic Rhys Heys, 17. Kieran Ryan, 18. Darragh McSweeney, 19. Charlie Irvine, 20. Ronnie O’Sullivan, 21. Andrew O’Mahony, 22. Reece Malone, 23. George Coomber, 24. Shay McCarthy, 25. Josh Hanlon, 26. George Shaw